Quarantine Things To Do

Hey! This is normally my family genealogy blog, but I’ll use it to keep a running list of things I’m finding to do while we’re staying away from other people. Some are personal recommendations.  Some are from friends.  Feel free to add your ideas in the comments, and I’ll add them to the list! I can’t guarantee that I can test out each link, so that’s all you. Have fun, and feel free to share!  I’ll try to keep updating them!

Free Women’s Bible Studies – https://lifewaywomen.com/2020/03/20/free-online-bible-studies-and-5-ebooks-to-stay-in-the-word

Jigsaw Puzzles Online! – https://www.jigsawexplorer.com/

Embry-Riddle (Free online K-12 classes) – https://news.erau.edu/headlines/as-many-schools-close-embry-riddle-offers-free-online-courses-for-k-12-students

450 Free Ivy League Courses – https://www.freecodecamp.org/news/here-are-380-ivy-league-courses-you-can-take-online-right-now-for-free-9b3ffcbd7b8c/?

Google Earth Virtual Tours of 31 US National Parks – https://www.thrillist.com/news/nation/google-earth-virtual-tours-of-us-national-parks?

Free Broadway Shows (7 day trial) – https://www.insider.com/stream-broadway-musicals-plays-for-free-online-limited-time-coronavirus-2020-3?

Mighty Oak Farm (Uh, wow. This is the mother lode.) – https://www.facebook.com/parentsareteacherstoo

Adventures in Odyssey Club (free for 28 days right now) – https://www.oaclub.org/

Authors Host Story Time! https://coolprogeny.com/2020/03/operation-storytime/

Crayola Crafts for Kids & Adults – https://www.crayola.com/splash/at-home.aspx

NY Public Library (Download books for free) – https://www.timeout.com/newyork/news/you-can-now-download-over-300-000-books-from-the-nypl-for-free-031820

12 Art YouTube Channels – https://homeschoolhideout.com/art-lessons-on-youtube/

Mount Vernon Virtual Tour – https://virtualtour.mountvernon.org/

Listen to Astronauts Read From Space – https://storytimefromspace.com/

Virtual Disney Rides – https://www.romper.com/p/while-disney-world-disneyland-are-closed-take-your-kids-on-virtual-rides-22622893

Virtual Farm Tours – https://www.americandairy.com/news-and-events/dairy-diary/virtual-farm-tours-while-your-stuck-at-home.stml

Virtual Aquarium Tours – https://www.midgetmomma.com/virtual-aquarium-tours/

33 National Park Virtual Tours – https://totallythebomb.com/heres-33-national-park-tours-you-can-take-virtually-from-the-comfort-of-your-home

20 Virtual Field Trips to Take With Your Kids – https://adventuresinfamilyhood.com/20-virtual-field-trips-to-take-with-your-kids.html

Lunch Doodles with Mo Willems! https://www.kennedy-center.org/education/mo-willems/

The Art Nook: https://www.facebook.com/The-Art-Nook-1892697430968267/
Free, daily art lessons!

Cincinnati Zoo: https://www.facebook.com/cincinnatizoo/
Join us for a Home Safari Facebook Live each weekday at 3pm where we will highlight one of our amazing animals and include an activity you can do from home. Join us starting Monday, March 16 at 3pm for our first Home Safari- featuring Fiona!

LibriVox: https://librivox.org/
Free public domain audiobooks.

Virtual Field Trips:  https://docs.google.com/document/d/1SvIdgTx9djKO6SjyvPDsoGlkgE3iExmi3qh2KRRku_w/preview

Berlin Philharmonic: https://www.digitalconcerthall.com/en/tickets
Redeem the voucher code by 3/31/2020 for free access to concerts and films in the Digital Concert Hall!

Storyline Online:  https://www.storylineonline.net/
Books read by actors and actresses geared for ages K-5 grades.

12 Famous Museums With Virtual Tours:  https://www.travelandleisure.com/attractions/museums-galleries/museums-with-virtual-tours

Educational Companies Offering Free Subscriptions Due to School Closings:  1) http://amazingeducationalresources.com/
2) https://kidsactivitiesblog.com/135609/list-of-education-companies-offering-free-subscriptions/

Medal of Honor Mail Call:  https://www.janinestange.com/moh/
Hurry for this one.  Must be postmarked by 3/18.  However, you can sign up for “monthly missions” to write letters to veterans.  

Kids Church Online:  https://www.kidology.org/kidschurchonline

The Metropolitan Opera:  https://www.metopera.org/about/press-releases/met-to-launch-nightly-met-opera-streams-a-free-series-of-encore-live-in-hd-presentations-streamed-on-the-company-website-during-the-coronavirus-closure/
Free opera for 30 days!  Suggestion:  look over the synopsis ahead of time so that you and your family can understand a little more about what is going on.  Opera is NOT what you think it is!

Scholastic:  https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html

Podcast / Audio Book Ideas for Kids: 

  • Six Minutes
  • The Unexplainable Disappearance of Mars Patel
  • Adventures in Odyssey (not a podcast, but look online for it!)
  • The Adventures of Finn Caspian
  • Brinkman
  • Last Chance Detectives (also not a podcast, but look online!)
  • The Wingfeather Saga (You can get it through Hoopla Digital via a Philadelphia Free Library card)

Other Ideas:

  1. Go for a walk
  2. Call the elderly / infirmed that you know to offer to run errands for them so they don’t have to go to the germy store or pharmacy.
  3. Call / video call relatives and friends who may be lonely.
  4. Write letters.
  5. Read books.
  6. Search your family history! You can start a free account on Ancestry!
  7. Practice your instrument.
  8. Look for scholarships (especially HS seniors & College students)
  9. Do a puzzle
  10. Play with your pet. Teach them a new trick!
  11. Learn a new art or craft.
  12. Organize a closet or the basement.
  13. Get together a yard sale / donation items.
  14. Spring Cleaning!!!
  15. Prep the yard for Spring!
  16. Start a journal – especially now – how you are feeling, what you are witnessing, home life, events, etc.

Other People’s Other Ideas:
1) 100 Activities to do at Home During School Closures – https://entertainkidsonadime.com/2020/03/13/100-activities-to-do-at-home-during-school-closures/
This is GREAT!

2) Fun Parent/Child Physical Activities – https://www.facebook.com/kristenmbarnard/posts/535366939172

3) Two Weeks of Fun & Easy Science Experiments – https://www.mkewithkids.com/post/here-are-two-weeks-worth-of-fun-and-easy-science-experiments

4) Giant List of Ideas for Being Home With the Kids – https://docs.google.com/document/d/1o6kEgCKLn3cyIm2hehhhSTIk7yRTd0C3zx49JS4wwCI/preview

5) Palm Art! https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=2144010005644120

6) 20 Screen-free Things to do With Your Kids When School is Closed – https://savedyouaspot.com/2020/03/12/20-screen-free-things-to-do-with-your-kids-indoors-when-school-is-closed/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s